ExecutiveJudicialSenateGraduate Student Congress




Graduate Student Congress

Executive Branch includes the ASG President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, and Chair of Senate. This group votes on appropriations within the Executive Budget, sets Executive priorities, initiatives, and goals, and is inclusive of the President’s Executive Cabinet; a 25 member group that advocates, programs, and addresses student concerns. The Executives meet weekly to gain updates on initiatives and discuss various issues, while Cabinet meets bi-monthly. The six Executive Officers must serve 10-15 office hours a week and are compensated for their time.

Senate is a 50-member, campus elected body that advocates and legislates various university issues and concerns. Senators are elected from the Undergraduate population as well as the School of Law. Elections in the spring elect Senators based off their college of enrollment, while vacancy elections select Senators at-large. In addition, five Senate seats are allocated strictly for first-year students. Senate meetings weekly, is chaired by the Chair of Senate, and operates very similar to the US Senate (reading and approval of legislation, committee responsibilities, etc.). Senators must serve office hours as well. 

Graduate Student Congress (GSC) is the second legislative branch within ASG. The GSC is chaired by the Speaker and works to addresses issues facing graduate students. This 35-member branch includes elected representatives based off college enrollment, as well as at-large representatives who fill vacant seats. The GSC meets monthly and operates via the passage of bills and resolutions.

Judicial (ASGJ) has three primary responsibilities: oversee and administer ASG elections, interpret ASG Code and Constitution, and investigate ASG Agents who have violated the ASG Standard of Ethics clause. ASGJ is managed by a Chief Justice and includes eight Associate Justices and two proxies, all who are nominated by the ASG President and confirmed by the Senate and GSC. Justices serve a three-year term, while proxies serve one-year terms.